Incognito Mode

People nowadays are more vigilant when it comes to their personal information. When you are living with your family, leaving your computer unprotected is not a good option. It might expose you to unwitting family members who pick up your device and stumble into the wrong app or folder.

Though a security password is your first line of defense, a second line of defense against undue embarrassment is required. And that’s where private browsing comes in. Google chrome has a modern private browsing window called Incognito Mode. But it has a limitation which will be explained below.

Incognito Mode Defined

 It is a private browsing window that is safe to use. The good thing about Incognito mode is that Chrome won’t save your browsing history, cookies, and site data. All the files you download will be kept. And all your activity is hidden from the website you visited.

When you’re in incognito mode, you can log into many different websites using different accounts. It stops advertisers from snooping on what you are looking at.

Turn on Incognito Mode

You can enable Incognito mode if you want to browse privately without remembering your activity, using the following:

For Android Users

  1. Open Google Chrome app on your Android phone or tablet.

2. Tap the three-dot menu button at the upper right corner of the address bar,

3. And then click on the New Incognito Tab.

A new window appears, on the upper left corner of the screen, you’ll see the Incognito icon.

Taking screenshots isn’t allowed while Incognito mode is still enabled. You can switch between Incognito tabs and regular Chrome tabs whenever you want.

For Computer

          The same goes for your computer.

  1. Open Chrome.

2. At the upper right corner of the address bar click the three-dot menu button.

3. Click on the New Incognito tab.

A new window appears, on the upper left corner of the screen, you’ll see the Incognito icon.

Using keyboard shortcuts, you can also open an Incognito window. Press Ctrl+ Shift + n for Windows, Linux, or Chrome OS, and for Mac, press ⌘ + Shift + n.

Browse Privately? What does it mean?

Browsing privately proactively deletes any history, cookies, or anything that you downloaded before. Also, it can’t control what information is gathered and stored on other websites’ servers.

Most people who browse the internet have noticed that most web browsers offer “incognito mode” option. It is valuable for personal day-to-day purposes. If you wanted to browse an adult website, signing into multiple email accounts at once, other sites that cause embarrassments, shopping, or throwing a surprise birthday party.

Your Information is still available

Incognito mode has nothing to do with the connection between you and the website you visited. However, it is still visible to your employer because all of that traffic is being routed through the servers at your internet service provider.

It just prevents browser history from being stored on your individual computer. Incognito mode only affects what’s being stored locally on your computer. Browsers also don’t delete any data build up during an incognito session securely.

Some of it could still be found with a software recovery program or inside your PC’s DNS cache which matches the URL of the site you visit the IP addresses.

Browsing Incognito Doesn’t Mean your Can Hide from the Law Enforcers

Though in Incognito Mode, Chrome doesn’t store browsing history, doesn’t retain cookies, and doesn’t keep searches you’ve made doesn’t mean that this information isn’t stored somewhere. You need to know that when you delete any file on your PC, the contents of the file remain on your hard disk and can easily be found. Not unless you use a program to write over deleted files.

Hence, anyone who assumes they can cover their tracks on the internet is going to be in big trouble. It is because the bookmarks you create in private mode are saved to Chrome. That means anything you saved will show up in your bookmark folder. Moreover, any preferences, settings, and accessibility adjustments you make during private browsing may be saved to Chrome, too.

Why bother using Incognito Mode

There are different reasons why people are using Incognito. First is the security feature that works both on mobile and PCs. For students, they use incognito mode every time they’re doing a presentation. Moreover, when you are using a shared or public computer and do some unbiased searching.

You may not be totally protected while browsing privately, but you’re at least shielded from third parties from collecting your data.

Keywords: incognito mode android, incognito mode iphone,incognito mode meaning, incognito mode shortcut, incognito mode safari,how private is google, what does incognito tab do, why is online privacy important, why should i care about privacy, why do we care so much about privacy summary,why internet privacy is not important, how much privacy do we have from the government, online privacy tips, opinions about privacy, do people care about data collection

Add-on

Private browsing is a necessity today. Especially against cyber threats. However, you can also avail Virtual Private Servers (VPNs) to further protect you from unwanted surveillance. It will increase your anonymity browsing the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: